The Manitoba Securities Commission - Return to Home PageClose

Real Estate Advisory Council

The Real Estate Advisory Council was established by The Manitoba Securities Commission and The Manitoba Real Estate Association (MREA) in 1996 as a non-statutory body to advise and make recommendations to the Commission and MREA on real estate issues; to consider mutually beneficial ideas, policies or legislative reform; and give advance notice of trends or developments in the real estate industry.

The Council membership comprises up to ten individuals representing the real estate industry and regulatory interests as follows:

The Chair is appointed by the MREA and acts as spokesman for Council and presides at meetings of Council. Council’s recommendations are conveyed by the Chair.

The Council meets at least once every year or more frequently at the call of the Chair to consider issues referred to Council by the Commission or MREA.

The members of Council are:

Committee Members Business Address
Claude Davis (Chair), Authorized Official Royal LePage Dynamic Real Estate, Winnipeg
Michael Barrett, Salesperson Century 21 Westman
Brian Canart, Salesperson Homelife Home Professional Realty Inc.
David Powell, Broker Powell Property Group , Winnipeg
Tom Fulton, Broker Re/Max Performance Realty
Robert F. Shaer, Broker Professional Property Managers' Association
Robert Giesbrecht, President Canadian Condominium Association (Manitoba Chapter)
Brian Collie, Executive Director, Manitoba Real Estate Association
Robert L. Tyler, Solicitor Aikins, MacAulay & Thorvaldson
Terry Kirkham, Registrar The Real Estate Brokers Act


Rev. August 16, 2011